Project settings is where you can configure the specific attributes of a project. These settings are either immediately chosen while you’re creating a new project or they can be (re)defined later by accessing the “Project settings” page of a particular project.

To define specific project attributes, such as their associated client, planed hours, owner, budget, etc., firstly select Manage 👉 Projects 👉 (click on the project's name), as seen below:

Project owner & Assigning a client

Project owner

The owner of a project is - by default - the person who created it. In case you want to change a project’s owner, click on the "Change" button and a new window will pop up, showing the list of team members which you can assign the project to. The new project owner will then be able, for example, to edit the project details, delete it, add or remove other team members to it.

Assigning a client

To assign a client to a project, click on the client field and pick the desired client. In case you don’t have any clients yet defined or in case you want to add a new client to your database, click on the "+ Client" button and simply add one instantly. The example below shows how to pick a new client from a list of existing clients:

Private & Active project

Private project

By default, all projects are set as public. That means all the time records are visible to every member of your team. In case you do not want other members to have access to your time records, tick the "Private" checkbox and the project will become private.

Note: a public project can be created only by the account owner, administrator or by users who have been given the “Time Tracking Project Manager” role by the admin/account owner. A private project, on the other hand, can be created by anyone.

The "Active" checkbox

By default, all projects are set as active. This feature allows you to see a Project in the project list when creating a new time record. Unticking the "Active" checkbox will make this particular project disappear from the list of available projects (when creating a new time record).

These projects time records will however be kept and will still be visible in newly created reports, as opposed to deleting a project, which deletes the project itself and all its associated time records.

The example below shows an Active / Public project:

Beneficial & Billable

The "Beneficial" attribute

By default, all projects are set as beneficial. The “beneficial” attribute works as a personal assessment you can make, either according to the current or final outcome of your project. This means you can decide, in retrospect, that the project was not beneficial to you. Marking a project as “Non-beneficial”, at any given point, will set all the associated project's time records as being “Non-beneficial” (and vice-versa) and this can be stated in the reports you subsequently create, if you so desire.

The "Billable" attribute

By default, all projects are set as billable. The ticked "Billable" checkbox allows you to set a budget and a specific hourly rate to the project's associated time records. The moment you untick the “Billable” checkbox, the “Budget” field disappears from that specific project settings.

Bellow we can see an example of a standard Billable / Beneficial project:

Project’s Infographic & Quick Access buttons

An abridged report, showing the most relevant aspects of your project can be found in the infographic exhibited on the right-hand side of the screen.

For more detailed analysis, extensive reports and other useful project-related shortcuts, you can simply press any of the buttons underneath the infographic, as seen inside the blue rectangle on the example below:

Related topics:

In case you need help or would like to share your ideas with us, please contact the prima:Time Support team by clicking on the black bubble in the bottom right corner of this page 🙌.

Did this answer your question?